Pet Urn Sales: Urns for Dogs & Cats

The Stages of Grief

What if I told you that, in time, the pain will go away? That, years from now, you will look fondly on the good memories of your pet without your heart breaking? Well, it’s not only possible; it’s true. According to popular psychology, there is a process of grieving that most people go through when dealing with a loss. Understanding this process will help you see the light at the end of the tunnel of grief. The theory of coping with death was developed by Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross and is easily recognized by the acronym DABDA: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance. Briefly, each stage of coping is described below:

  1. Denial — “There’s no way this could be happening to me.”
  2. Anger — “Why me? I don’t deserve this.”
  3. Bargaining — “Maybe if I tried this new medication or procedure, he wouldn’t die.”
  4. Depression — “I don’t know how to deal with this. I’m just so sad.”
  5. Acceptance — “It will be okay. I can accept this.”

When grieving a loss of a pet (or any other loved one), it’s important to know that emotions like anger and denial are normal and that, although you may always miss your best friend, you will one day be able to move on. If your emotions seem too much to handle on your own, don’t feel bad about seeking help, either from friends or from a professional. You can also consider letting Memorials for a Lifetime help you choose the best pet memorial for your dog, cat or other pet. When you’ve moved through the grieving process, you’ll be thankful you’ve chosen to memorialize your loved one in such a special way. Having a physical remembrance in place for your pet can help you to find closure to the grieving process.